Encoders for the elevators of the future:
KCI 419 Dplus and LINA 200

In the near future, cable-based elevator technology will no longer need microswitches for brake release monitoring. That’s because the new HEIDENHAIN KCI 419 Dplus rotary encoder for elevators provides position feedback for elevator motor control as well as additional data for brake monitoring.

In the more distant future, elevators will even run without cables. At interlift 2019, HEIDENHAIN will be showcasing an encoder solution for this as well: the LINA 200 absolute linear encoder.

HEIDENHAIN at interlift 2019 in Augsburg

Press Release

The KCI 419 Dplus rotary encoder for elevators: two-dimensional was yesterday

The new KCI 419 Dplus not only offers greater availability and safety; it also significantly reduces the time and effort necessary for installation, cabling, adjustment, and maintenance. The following capabilities are integrated in this device:

  • Motor feedback
  • Brake release monitoring
  • Wear indication data
  • Temperature monitoring
  • Online self-diagnostics
  • Digital data transmission

In addition to transmitting rotational position values, the KCI 419 Dplus inductive rotary encoder for elevators also measures axial motion. When mechanically coupled with the armature plate of the brake, the KCI 419 Dplus can detect the brake stroke. Based on this information, the subsequent electronics can determine the state of the brake (released or engaged) and the amount of brake wear.

By virtue of its direct proximity to the motor and brake, the KCI 419 Dplus rotary encoder for elevators also provides meaningful temperature monitoring data without the need for additional sensors. These temperature data can then be used to infer the presence of malfunctions.

Because all of these parameters are transmitted on a single cable via the purely digital EnDat 2.2 interface, overall system cabling is greatly simplified. Further benefits include improved remote monitoring and predictive maintenance capabilities.

In addition to these completely new innovations, the KCI 419 Dplus also includes all of the familiar strengths of classic rotary encoders from HEIDENHAIN. Its inductive scanning method is highly immune to contamination and vibration, and is renowned for its operational reliability.

LINA 200: the absolute linear encoder for a future where elevators have no cables

Envision an elevator car not pulled by cables while capable of both vertical and horizontal travel—HEIDENHAIN is offering the encoder technology to make this possible: the LINA 200 absolute inductive linear encoder. It consists of two tracks with different signals periods, from which the absolute position value is then calculated.

U-shaped design for mechanical sturdiness and robustness of encoder signals

A special feature of this scale is that the two tracks are not located in one plane; instead, they face each other. The resulting U-shaped scale allows the measuring standard to be scanned from two sides. At the same time, a double-wall design protects both the graduation and the scanning process from mechanical and electromagnetic interference. This structural configuration also combines maximum stiffness with low weight.

Graduation carrier of LINA 200

  • Attached to the elevator cabin
  • Overall length: 2400 mm
  • Four segments, each with a measuring length of approximately 600 mm

LINA 200 scanning heads

  • Arranged in a cascading pattern in the elevator shaft
  • Continuous position feedback over the entire travel distance
  • Generous guideway tolerances of ±5 mm and ±4 mm
  • Measuring step: approx. 2 µm

Performance data

  • Traversing speed tested in an elevator shaft: 6 m/s
  • Traversing speed tested in a laboratory: 18 m/s

The LINA 200 thus delivers reliable, highly accurate position feedback for the cableless elevator’s motor control. Yet it also provides sufficiently wide tolerances for real-world mounting inside the elevator shaft and for the compensation of building displacement. At low speed, as well as during the deceleration and acceleration phases before and after a stop, the high-resolution position feedback (18 bits) at a measuring length of approximately 600 mm ensures very comfortable and gentle motion.

Read the LINA 200 technology report

Reliable data transmission via EnDat for high dynamic performance and passenger comfort
The scanning head signals of the LINA 200 are so robust and reproducible that the diagnostic values for signal quality defined in the EnDat protocol can also yield information about whether the guide rails are within tolerance. The LINA 200 thus serves not only as a linear encoder but also provides data for continuous diagnostics and condition monitoring of the larger mechanical system. As a result, lateral deviations during operation can be detected.

The high-accuracy position values are transmitted purely digitally to the subsequent electronics via the EnDat 2.2 interface. In this particular application, however, EnDat 2.2 provides another important and safety-relevant benefit pertaining to the strong magnetic fields that surround linear motors: the EnDat 2.2 interface features high electromagnetic compatibility and, unlike conventional analog signals, ensures reliable data transmission even in this kind of environment.

HEIDENHAIN solutions for conventional elevators:
Encoders for main motors, shaft copying systems, and doors

HEIDENHAIN rotary encoders are rugged, reliable, and high-resolution. For years, these characteristics have made them proven and reliable solutions for motor control and position measurement in conventional elevators. Not only do they meet growing elevator-industry demands for fast speeds, large travel heights, compact designs, and low operating costs. They also ensure optimal ride comfort, including smooth destination approach, steady acceleration, gentle braking, and precise arrival for a comfortable, jerk-free experience.

All encoders at a glance:
Our “Rotary Encoders for the Elevator Industry”
Product Overview

Rotary encoders for elevator motor control

HEIDENHAIN rotary encoders for elevator motor control offer the following characteristics:

  • Excellent signal quality
  • High accuracy
  • Rigid shaft connections
  • Easy installation
  • High mechanical natural frequency (with expanding ring coupling)
  • Wider operating tolerances (with plane-surface coupling)

The products:

With tapered shaft (1:10 ratio and 9.25 mm in diameter):

AEF 1300
ECN 1300
ECN 400
ERN 1300
ERN 400

All rotary encoders of this series are available with an expanding ring coupling or a plane-surface coupling.

For hollow through shafts (up to 50 mm in diameter):

ECN 100
ERN 100

For detailed information on individual series and models, visit these links:

AEF 1323
   

Absolute Rotary Encoder for Integration in Elevator Servo Drives

ECN 1300
and ERN 1300

Rotary Encoders with Plane-Surface Coupling for Elevator Servo Drive Control  

ECN 1300 
    

Absolute Rotary Encoders with Expanding Ring Coupling

ERN 1300
      

Incremental Rotary Encoders with Expanding Ring Coupling

ECN 400
und ERN 400

Rotary Encoders for Elevator Motor Control

Rotary encoders for digital shaft copying

For properly timed, jerk-free braking and exact positioning of the elevator car, the car's position must be accurately measured and forwarded to the control. Absolute rotary encoders are the logical choice for this task, bringing distinct benefits to digital shaft copying:

  • Constant availability of the car’s absolute position, even after a power outage
  • Rapid destination approach thanks to constant availability of the actual position

The products:

With a mounted stator coupling:

EQN 400

For particularly high shaft loads reaching up to 150 N axially and 350 N radially, the EQN 400 is also available with a bearing assembly. This feature decouples the encoder’s bearing from applied forces and prevents overloading.

Rotary encoders for digital shaft copying

Rotary encoders for door motors

The fast and perfectly timed operation of elevator doors enables shorter stopping times, thereby increasing traffic performance. Accurate and dynamic position measurement is key to attaining this. HEIDENHAIN rotary encoders for door motors provide the necessary speed and position feedback in a compact design, featuring an outer diameter of less than 40 mm for all encoders.

The products:

With a hollow through shaft (up to 8 mm in diameter):

ERO 1420

With a blind hollow shaft (6 mm in diameter):

ERN 1000
ECI 1000
EBI 1000

Rotary encoders for door motors

Easy implementation with EnDat

EnDat is the ideal interface for digital drive systems and position control loops using position encoder feedback. In particular, the interface’s purely serial design offers numerous benefits of great value to applications in the elevator industry. Purely serial data transmission via EnDat is:

Universal

  • Wide selection of encoders from various suppliers
  • Simple cabling and integration of additional sensors

High-performance

  • Short cycle times
  • High bandwidth

Communicative

  • Transmission of position values and sensor data
  • Extensive system monitoring for Industry 4.0

Diagnostic

  • Electronic ID label for automatic system installation
  • Online encoder diagnostics • Storage of operating status data

Safe

  • For safety-related applications with up to SIL 3

Implementation is made easier with the EnDat Master, or in the elevator industry, the EnDat Master Mini. Designed specifically for fast and cost effective implementation, it handles communication between the purely serial EnDat encoder and the higher-level application. For more information, see the Implementation Guide.

Find out more about the EnDat interface and its implementation

Messgeräte für den Aufzug der Zukunft:
KCI 419 Dplus und LINA 200

Die seilbetriebene Aufzugstechnik der nahen Zukunft kennt keine Mikroschalter für die Bremslüftüberwachung mehr. Denn der neue HEIDENHAIN-Aufzugsdrehgeber KCI 419 Dplus liefert Positionswerte als Motorfeedback für die Aufzugsregelung und Zusatzinformationen für das Bremsenmonitoring.

In der weiteren Zukunft fahren Aufzüge sogar ohne Seil. Dafür zeigte HEIDENHAIN auf der interlift 2019 ebenfalls eine Messgerätelösung: das absolute Längenmesssystem LINA 200.

Presseinformation

Aufzugsdrehgeber KCI 419 Dplus – Zweidimensional war gestern

Der neue KCI 419 Dplus bietet mehr Verfügbarkeit und Sicherheit sowie deutlich reduzierte Aufwände bei Montage, Verkabelung, Justage und Wartung. Integriert in einem Gerät sind:

  • Motorregelung
  • Bremslüftüberwachung
  • Verschleißanzeige
  • Temperaturmonitoring
  • Online-Selbstdiagnose
  • Digitale Datenübertragung

Der induktive Aufzugsdrehgeber KCI 419 Dplus kann nicht nur Positionswerte in rotatorischer Richtung übertragen.
Er liefert auch Werte zum Abstand in axialer Richtung. Indem die Ankerscheibe der Bremse mechanisch mit dem KCI 419 Dplus gekoppelt wird, kann der Aufzugsdrehgeber den Bremsenhub detektieren. Aus diesen Daten kann die Folge-Elektronik den Bremsenstatus – gelüftet oder geschlossen – und den Verschleiß der Bremse ableiten.

Durch seine unmittelbare Nähe zum Motor und zu den Bremsen liefert der Aufzugsdrehgeber KCI 419 Dplus auch relevante Daten für die Temperaturüberwachung – wiederum ohne zusätzliche Sensoren. Diese Daten erlauben ebenfalls Rückschlüsse auf Fehlfunktionen.

Die Verkabelung des Gesamtsystems ist deutlich einfacher, da sämtliche Parameter über ein Kabel mit der rein seriellen Schnittstelle EnDat 2.2 übertragen werden. Weitere Vorteile sind die besseren Möglichkeiten für Remote Monitoring und Predictive Maintenance.

Zusätzlich zu diesen völlig neuen Möglichkeiten bietet der KCI 419 Dplus alle Stärken klassischer HEIDENHAIN-Drehgeber. Die induktive Abtastung ist robust gegen Verschmutzung und Vibration und bekannt für hohe Betriebssicherheit.

LINA 200: Das absolute Längenmessgerät für den seillosen Aufzug der Zukunft

Eine Aufzugskabine, die nicht über Seile bewegt wird und sowohl senkrecht als auch waagrecht fahren kann – für diese Vision liefert HEIDENHAIN die Messtechnik: das absolute induktive Längenmesssystem LINA 200. Es besteht aus zwei Spuren mit unterschiedlicher Signalperiode, die zu einem absoluten Positionswert verrechnet werden.

U-förmiger Aufbau für mechanische Robustheit und Robustheit der Messgerätesignale

Eine Besonderheit des Maßstabs ist dabei, dass die beiden Spuren nicht in einer Ebene angeordnet sind, sondern sich gegenüberliegen. Das dafür realisierte u-förmige Maßstabdesign ermöglicht nicht nur die Abtastung der Maßverkörperung von beiden Seiten. Die doppelwandige Ausführung schützt auch die Teilung und die Abtastung vor mechanischen und elektromagnetischen Einflüssen. Außerdem realisiert diese Art der Konstruktion ein geringes Gewicht bei maximaler Steifigkeit.

Aufbau Maßstabskörper LINA 200

  • Befestigung an der Kabine
  • Gesamtlänge 2400 mm
  • Vier Abschnitte mit jeweils ca. 600 mm Messlänge.

Aufbau Abtastköpfe LINA 200

  • Im Schacht kaskadierend angeordnet
  • Positionserfassung über die gesamte Fahrstrecke
  • Großzügige Führungstoleranzen ±5 mm bzw. ±4 mm
  • Messschritt ca. 2 µm

Leistungsdaten

  • Fahrgeschwindigkeit im Test: 6 m/s
  • Fahrgeschwindigkeit im Labor: 18 m/s

Das LINA 200 liefert zuverlässig hochgenaue Positionssignale für die Antriebsregelung des seillosen Aufzugs. Zudem bietet es genügend Toleranzen für ein praxisgerechtes Montagekonzept im Aufzugsschacht und um Bewegungen des Gebäudes auszugleichen. Bei langsamer Fahrt sowie beim Beschleunigen nach und beim Abbremsen vor einem Stopp sorgt die hohe Auflösung der Positionswerte von 18 Bit bei einer Messlänge von ca. 600 mm für eine sehr angenehme, sanfte Bewegung.

Der Technologiebericht zum LINA 200

Sichere Datenübertragung mit EnDat für hohe Dynamik und hohen Fahrkomfort
Die Signale der Abtastköpfe des LINA 200 sind so stabil und so reproduzierbar, dass die im EnDat-Protokoll definierten Diagnosewerte zur Signalqualität Rückschlüsse auf die mechanischen Toleranzen der Führungsschienen zulassen. Damit dient das Längenmessgerät LINA 200 nicht nur zur Antriebssteuerung, sondern liefert auch Daten für eine permanente Diagnose bzw. Zustandsüberwachung der Mechanik. So können Laufabweichungen während des Fahrbetriebs erkannt werden.

Die hochgenauen Positionswerte überträgt die EnDat 2.2-Schnittstelle rein digital an die Nachfolgeelektronik. In dieser Applikation bietet EnDat 2.2 aber noch einen weiteren wichtigen und sicherheitsrelevanten Vorteil: In der Umgebung von Linearmotoren entstehen üblicherweise starke elektromagnetische Störfelder. Die EnDat 2.2-Schnittstelle verfügt über eine hohe elektromagnetische Verträglichkeit und gewährleistet – im Gegensatz zur herkömmlichen Datenübertragung mit analogen Signalen – eine sichere Datenübertragung auch in diesem Umfeld.

HEIDENHAIN-Lösungen für klassische Aufzüge:
Messgeräte an Antrieb, Schachtkopie und Tür

Robust, zuverlässig, hochauflösend – vor allem diese Eigenschaften machen HEIDENHAIN-Drehgeber für die Aufzugsindustrie seit Jahren zu bewährten und zuverlässigen Lösungen bei der Antriebsregelung und Positionsmessung an klassischen Aufzugsanlagen. Damit erfüllen Sie einerseits die steigenden Anforderungen der Aufzugshersteller an hohe Fahrgeschwindigkeiten und große Förderhöhen bei gleichzeitig kompakter Bauweise sowie geringen Betriebskosten. Andererseits ermöglichen sie besten Fahrkomfort: Weiches Anfahren und kontinuierliches Beschleunigen zählen ebenso zu den Voraussetzungen für komfortable und belastungsfreie Beförderung wie sanftes Abbremsen und exaktes Einfahren in die Zielposition.

Alle Messgeräte auf einen Blick:
Unsere Produktübersicht
„Drehgeber für die Aufzugsindustrie“

Drehgeber für die Antriebsregelung von Aufzügen

HEIDENHAIN-Drehgeber für die Antriebsregelung von Aufzügen zeichnen sich durch folgende Merkmale aus:

Hervorragende Signalgüte

  • Hohe Genauigkeit
  • Steife Wellenverbindungen
  • Einfache Montage
  • Hohe mechanische Eigenfrequenz (mit Spreizringkupplung)
  • Erweiterte Lauftoleranzen (mit Planflächenkupplung)

Das Programm:

Mit Konuswelle 1:10, Durchmesser 9,25 mm:

AEF 1300
ECN 1300
ECN 400
ERN 1300
ERN 400

Alle Drehgeber dieser Baureihen stehen in Ausführungen mit Spreizringkupplung oder Planflächenkupplung zur Wahl.

Für durchgehende Hohlwellen bis 50 mm Durchmesser:

ECN 100
ERN 100

Detaillierte Informationen zu einzelnen Baureihen und Typen finden Sie hier:

AEF 1323
   

Der absolute Einbau-Drehgeber zur Antriebsregelung von Aufzügen

ECN 1300
und ERN 1300

Einbau-Drehgeber mit Planflächen-kupplung  

ECN 1300 
    

Absolute Drehgeber mit Spreizringkupplung 

ERN 1300
      

Inkrementale Drehgeber mit Spreizringkupplung 

ECN 400
und ERN 400

Drehgeber zur Antriebsregelung von Aufzügen

Drehgeber für die digitale Schachtkopie

Zum rechtzeitigen, ruckfreien Abbremsen und exakten Positionieren der Fahrkabine muss deren Position genau erfasst und der Steuerung exakt übermittelt werden. Dafür bieten sich insbesondere absolute Drehgeber an. Sie ermöglichen eine digitale Schachtkopie mit deutlichen Vorteilen:

  • Die jederzeit verfügbare absolute Position der Fahrkabine – auch nach Stromausfall
  • Eine Direkteinfahrt der Kabine durch die permanent zur Verfügung stehenden, positionsabhängigen Istwerte

Das Programm:

Mit angebauter Statorkupplung:

EQN 400

Für besonders hohe Wellenbelastungen bis zu 150 N axial und 350 N radial ist der EQN 400 in Verbindung mit einem Lagerbock lieferbar. Dadurch werden die auftretenden Kräfte vom Lager des Drehgebers abgekoppelt und eine Überlastung vermieden.

Die Drehgeber für die digitale Schachtkopie

Drehgeber für Türantriebe

Das schnelle und punktgenaue Öffnen und Schließen der Aufzugtüren sorgt für kürzere Haltezeiten und damit höhere Transportleistung. Entscheidend dafür ist eine dynamische und genaue Positionsmessung. HEIDENHAIN-Drehgeber für Türantriebe bieten die notwendige Drehzahl- und Positionsrückmeldung bei besonders kompakten Abmessungen: Der Außendurchmesser aller Geräte liegt unter 40 mm.

Das Programm:

Mit durchgehender Hohlwelle bis 8 mm Durchmesser:

ERO 1420

Mit einseitig offener Hohlwelle, 6 mm Durchmesser:

ERN 1000
ECI 1000
EBI 1000

Die Drehgeber für den Türantrieb

Einfache Implementierung mit EnDat

EnDat ist die ideale Schnittstelle für digitale Antriebssysteme und Lageregelkreise mit Positionsmessgeräten zur Messwerterfassung. Speziell die rein serielle Ausführung der EnDat-Schnittstelle bietet zahlreiche Vorteile, die sie insbesondere auch für Anwendungen in der Aufzugsindustrie auszeichnen. Eine rein serielle Datenübertragung via EnDat ist:

Universell

  • Breites Messgeräteportfolio verschiedener Hersteller
  • Einfache Verkabelung und Einbindung von Zusatzsensorik

Performant

  • Kurze Zykluszeiten
  • Hohe Bandbreite

Kommunikativ

  • Übertragung von Positionswerten und Sensordaten 
  • Umfangreiches System-Monitoring für Industrie 4.0

Diagnosefähig

  • Elektronisches Typenschild für automatische Systeminstallation
  • Online-Diagnose der Messgeräte • Ablage von Betriebszustandsdaten

Sicher

  • Für sicherheitsgerichtete Anwendungen bis SIL 3

Die einfache Implementierung unterstützt der EnDat Master – für die Aufzugsindustrie insbesondere der EnDat Master Mini. Er übernimmt die Kommunikation vom rein seriellen EnDat-Messgerät zur übergeordneten Applikation und ist speziell ausgelegt auf eine kostengünstige und schnelle Implementierung. Weitere Informationen dazu finden Sie im Implementierungsleitfaden

Alle Informationen rund um die
EnDat-Schnittstelle und ihre Implementierung